17.32.040 – Historic Preservation Commission officers and meetings

  1. The Commission shall elect from its membership a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, and such other officers as it may determine. Officers shall serve for terms of one (1) year, commencing May 1 and ending April 30 of the following year, and shall be eligible for re-election.
  2. A quorum shall consist of a majority of the members. All recommendations to the Building and Code Enforcement Division Manager, Plan Commission or City Council shall be made by a majority of those members present at any meeting where a quorum exists. Any member of the Commission who fails to attend one-third (1 /3) or more of the meetings held within any six (6) month period may be deemed to have vacated their office and may be replaced by another person appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council.
    (Ord. 2010-Z-4 § 5.)
  3. Meetings shall be held at regularly scheduled times or at the call of the Chairperson; minutes of the proceedings of each meeting shall be made and kept, all in accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act and as otherwise required by law.
  4. Members may be removed from the Commission for cause, upon the recommendation of the Mayor or a motion proposed by the City Council, by a two-thirds (2 /3) majority vote of the City Council.